And Spirit Award Nominees Are…

Film Independent Spirit Awards Logo

Selected from 200 films by 45 nominating members, here are the nominees for the 2008 Spirit Awards:

Best Feature

  • The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
    Producers: Kathleen Kennedy, Jon Kilik
  • I’m Not There
    Producers: Christine Vachon, John Sloss, John Goldwyn, James D. Stern
  • Juno
    Producers: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Mason Novick, Russell Smith
  • A Mighty Heart
    Producers: Dede Gardner, Andrew Eaton, Brad Pitt
  • Paranoid Park
    Producers: Neil Kopp, David Cress

Best Director

  • Todd Haynes
    I’m Not There
  • Tamara Jenkins
    The Savages
  • Jason Reitman
  • Julian Schnabel
    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
  • Gus Van Sant
    Paranoid Park

Best First Feature

  • 2 Days in Paris
    Director: Julie Delpy
    Producers: Julie Delpy, Christophe Mazodier, Thierry Potok
  • Great World of Sound
    Director: Craig Zobel
    Producers: Melissa Palmer, David Gordon Green, Richard Wright, Craig Zobel
  • The Lookout
    Director: Scott Frank
    Producers: Roger Birnbaum, Gary Barber, Laurence Mark, Walter Parkes
  • Rocket Science
    Director: Jeffrey Blitz
    Producers: Effie T. Brown, Sean Welch
  • Vanaja
    Director: Rajnesh Domalpalli
    Producer: Latha R. Domalapalli

John Cassavettes Award

(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)

  • August Evening
    Writer/Directpr: Chris Eska
    Producers: Connie Hill, Jason Wehling
  • Owl and the Sparrow
    Writer/Director: Stephane Gauger
    Producers: Nguyen Van Quan, Doan Nhat Nam, Stephane Gauger
  • The Pool
    Director: Chris Smith
    Producer: Kate Noble
    Writer: Chris Smith & Randy Russell
  • Quiet City
    Director: Aaron Katz
    Producers: Brendan McFadden, Ben Stambler
    Writers: Aaron Katz, Erin Fisher, Cris Lankenau
  • Shotgun Stories
    Writer/Director: Jeff Nichols
    Producers: David Gordon Green, Lisa Muskat, Jeff Nichols

Best Screenplay

  • Ronald Harwood
    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
  • Tamara Jenkins
    The Savages
  • Fred Parnes & Andrew Wagner
    Starting Out in the Evening
  • Adrienne Shelly
  • Mike White
    Year of the Dog

Best First Screenplay

  • Jeffrey Blitz
    Rocket Science
  • Zoe Cassavetes
    Broken English
  • Diablo Cody
  • Kelly Masterson
    Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead
  • John Orloff
    A Mighty Heart

Best Female Lead

  • Angelina Jolie
    A Mighty Heart
  • Sienna Miller
  • Ellen Page
  • Parker Posey
    Broken English
  • Tang Wei
    Lust, Caution

Best Male Lead

  • Pedro Castaneda
    August Evening
  • Don Cheadle
    Talk To Me
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman
    The Savages
  • Frank Langella
    Starting Out in the Evening
  • Tony Leung
    Lust, Caution

Best Supporting Female

  • Cate Blanchett
    I’m Not There
  • Anna Kendrick
    Rocket Science
  • Jennifer Jason Leigh
    Margot at the Wedding
  • Tamara Podemski
    Four Sheets to the Wind
  • Marisa Tomei
    Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead

Best Supporting Male

  • Chiwetel Ejiofor
    Talk To Me
  • Marcus Carl Franklin
    I’m Not There
  • Kene Holliday
    Great World of Sound
  • Irrfan Khan
    The Namesake
  • Steve Zahn
    Rescue Dawn

Best Cinematography

  • Mott Hupfel
    The Savages
  • Janusz Kaminski
    The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
  • Milton Kam
  • Mihai Malaimare, Jr.
    Youth Without Youth
  • Rodrigo Prieto
    Lust, Caution

Best Documentary

  • Crazy Love
    Director: Dan Klores
  • Lake of Fire
    Director: Tony Kaye
  • Manufactured Landscapes
    Director: Jennifer Baichwal
  • The Monastery
    Director: Pernille Rose Grønkjær
  • The Prisoner or: How I Planned to Kill Tony Blair
    Directors: Petra Epperlein & Michael Tucker

Best Foreign Film

  • 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days
    Director: Cristian Mungiu
  • The Band’s Visit
    Director: Eran Kolirin
  • Lady Chatterley
    Director: Pascale Ferran
  • Once
    Director: John Carney
  • Persepolis
    Directors: Vincent Paronnaud & Marjane Satrapi


(Given to one film’s director, casting director and its ensemble cast)

  • I’m Not There
    Director: Todd Haynes
    Casting Director: Laura Rosenthal
    Ensemble Cast: Cate Blanchett, Christian Bale, Richard Gere, Heath Ledger, Ben Whishaw, Marcus Carl Franklin, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Bruce Greenwood

The awards telecast will be broadcast on IFC on February 23, 2008.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s