WGA Strike Rolls On

As the WGA strike continues, here’s an amusing and informative response to the studio’s claims that there is no money in the ‘new media’ that the strikers want a piece of (brought to my attention by Christian Divine).

If you’re like me, you support the creative types over the suits in this thing. It’s reckless perhaps, but how can you not root for Diablo Cody against Sumner Redstone? I mean, just look at them.

sumnerdiablo-002.jpg

The question is, what can you do about it besides sign this petition? Jeff Wells reported the other day that people commenting on Nikki Finke’s Deadline Hollywood Daily (one of the best single sources for strike news) were suggesting a Thanksgiving movie blackout. It’s a big weekend for movie going and the thinking is that if enough people stayed home, it would have a direct and immediate impact on the studios. The idea has spread and other blogs (SpoutBlog for example) are talking it up.

I question whether people who can barely raise up with so much as a Who-villian “Yopp!” in protest of a war they don’t support will cut into their highly prized holiday leisure time to support a bunch of people whose job they view erroneously as glamorous and lucrative. Some even question the legality of it. Regardless, if such a thing happens I will participate. Though I doubt the impact it would have, it at least shows the writers that there are people out there who support them. If I hear anything, I’ll let you know.

2 thoughts on “WGA Strike Rolls On

  1. I feel a little bad knowing that there isn’t anything opening next Wed that I have any interest in seeing anyway, but that’s not my fault. The part that bothers me is that most Americans still have no clue there’s even a strike going on (or they don’t care).

    It will be interesting to see what happens if this thing is still going strong in February.

Leave a Reply

