AFI Fest 2007: Day 1

lions-for-lambs-afi.jpg
Meryl Streep and Robert Redford arrive at the Arclight Cinerama Dome for the 11/ 1 North American premiere of their movie Lions for Lambs on opening night of
AFI Fest 2007 (AP Photo/Matt Sayles)

The cornerstone attention grabbers of AFI Fest this year are all preferable to last Summer’s LA Film Festival centerpiece offering of Transformers. By a long shot.  They rolled out the red carpet for Lions for Lambs last night. Monday they’ve got Jason Reitman’s Juno. Mike Newell’s Love in the Time of Cholera closes the festival on Sunday November 11th.

I wasn’t within miles of the place so if you want to know who was wearing what and what project they’re working on next, you’ll have to tune into Billy Bush tonight on ET or something. For me, the festival really begins tonight. Richard Kelly’s much maligned but re-worked Southland Tales is showing along with Never Apologize: A Personal Visit with Lindsay Anderson, an appreciation of the director written by Malcolm McDowell. Also playing is a concert film of the Icelandic musical group Sigur Rós and a super low budget horror film called Pop Skull that LA Weekly describes as “a teen movie for those touched by Inland Empire.”

I was tempted by Southland Tales, but instead I’m going with the South Korean drama Secret Sunshine which earned star Jeon Do-Yeon a Best Leading Actress award at Cannes earlier this year. After that I hope to see Confessions of a Superhero, a documentary about the low rent costumed characters you see in front of the Chinese Theater in Hollywood who earn money having their pictures taken with tourists.

Tomorrow I might catch the second screening of Southland Tales, but I’m most interested in 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days, the Romanian abortion drama that won the Palme d’Or at Cannes and Searchers 2.0, the latest film from Alex Cox. 

4 thoughts on “AFI Fest 2007: Day 1

  1. Lucky you Craig!

    I really like the sound of the documentaries on Lindsey Anderson (and who better placed to comment on his greatest work than Malcolm McDowall?) and the excellent Sugar Ros.

    On the face of it Confessions seems like a lo-fi affair. What attracts you to it?

  2. I’m embarrassed you read this typo-laced post.

    c’est la vie.

    Both the Lindsay Anderson doc and Sigur Ros were on my short list of potential things to see (and I might catch second screenings of them), but I’ve always had this odd fascination with the tattered superheroes entertaining tourists that I can’t quite explain.

    In a nutshell, they say a lot about the artifice and reality of Hollywood that I hope the doc gets into. It could be a total bust, but that’s the fun of the festival. There will be something else tomorrow.

  3. POP SKULL was awesome! Artsy film that i think AMerican cinema is new to, but AWESOME!

    Effects were great although hard to watch but story and actors were awesome!

    Southland Tales was good, not great but good!

  4. I’m sorry I missed Pop Skull. It was on my list of potential movies, but something else that grabbed my eye came up.

    I heard good stuff about it from someone else tonight. I’ll be sure to keep my eye out for it.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

