Weekend Forecast: 9/28/07

The Kingdom
The Kingdom (2007)

It’s Thursday so this must be another Weekend Forecast. In my humble opinion, unless you live in New York, there isn’t much new to see here.

New in wide release:

  • The Kingdom. Americans investigating a bombing in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. Seems to be a slick action thriller with terrorists, the Bad Guys du Jour. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. Jamie Foxx, Jennifer Garner and Chris Cooper star. Directed by Peter Berg.
  • Feast of Love. Robert Benton’s Portland based romantic fantasy with a great ensemble cast isn’t doing so well with critics so far. It still looks like the most interesting of a fairly week crop to me.
  • The Game Plan. If Dwayne Johnson keeps making crappy movies like this, he’s going to have to change his nickname to “The Suck”. Ok, I admit I haven’t seen it. It could be the Best Movie Ever. Right. If it pulls over 40% on Rotten Tomatoes, I’ll eat a bug. Yeah, I should probably check before I say stuff like that….ok good, so far it’s 38%, but not many reviews in (as of 9/27). Damn you Joe Leydon! If this thing goes over 40, you’ll be getting an angrily worded email from yours truly. I shit you not.

In limited release:

  • Great World of Sound. I first mentioned this one a few weeks back. It’s finally made its way to LA so pardon my cut and paste: Oddly interesting looking indie tragicomedy about two aspiring music producers who have just been trained by a record company and then sent out into the world to find new talent who will then pay fees as part of their recording contracts. All seems well until it begins to appear the record company isn’t being exactly honest.
  • Trade. A 13-year-old girl is kidnapped into sex slavery by Mexican sex traffickers. Texas cop Kevin Kline investigates. Craig gets the willies.

And for you lucky jerks in New York:

  • The Darjeeling Limited. Wes Anderson’s latest opens on Saturday. Watch the 13 minute The Hotel Chevalier (supposedly Part 1 of The Darjeeling Limited) for free from iTunes right now. Starring Jason Schwartzman’s mustache and Natalie Portman’s bum.
  • Lust, Caution. Ang Lee’s erotic espionage thriller.

Expanding:

  • In the Valley of Elah. Don’t fear the Haggis. Check it out especially if you like Tommy Lee Jones.

Not expanding:

  • The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford. Still in only a handful of theaters, but apparently expanding a little next weekend.
8 thoughts on “Weekend Forecast: 9/28/07

  1. Damn lucky New Yorkers.

    I admit I’m curious about the Kingdom but I’m not buying the hype I’m hearing on it until I see it myself. Not sure how soon that my be.

    I might go see Inagodada-Elah this weekend, but I’m having a hard time mustering the energy after paying full ticket price to see Crash and Flags of our Fathers. Haggis, you haunt me.

    I didn’t realize Feast of Love was made here in PDX until I saw it mentioned in the local rag this evening. Now I might have to see it.

    Still waiting for Assassination of Jesse James to make it’s way here too.

  2. According to Box Office Mojo, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford will remain in 5 theaters this weekend and will expand to 25 next weekend. Beyond that…I don’t know.

    Go to a matinee of Elah. It’s worth at least that much.

    Just can’t muster up much enthusiasm for The Kingdom. I’m led to believe it doesn’t really take advantage of its topicality, it’s just a pretty straight up action-thriller which is fine….but I’m not in the mood.

    I’d like to see Benton hit one out of the park with Feast of Love, but this does not appear to be the case.

    And last, but not least, The Game Plan appears to be hovering around 34%. Thank god I dont have to eat a bug.

  3. maybe it’s easier and more fun to read too. 🙂

    ithink i’ll be regular here… see bug eating isn’t so bad now…;)

    and if you beat ‘the rock’ in a 2 out of 3 falls match. you can get him to change his name to ‘the suck’

    but he obviously wants no part of the word maven kennedy,so he resorts to being billed as dwayne johnson.

    see everyone has always said ‘the suck’ ..uh i mean ‘the rock’ was smart….

    and don’t worry about the bug thing. i doubt ‘game plan’ can make up nine points late in third quarter…. 🙂

  4. in additional to eyebrow kicking he may have won he war too. the nation’s number one film this weekend was ‘the game plan’ guess the nation liked what he was cooking. don’t worry i’ve got 3,000 more lame jokes… 🙂

  5. You know, I can’t even speak against Game Plan, it’s simply not my cup of tea, but I just got back from The Kingdom and it’s too bad it didn’t do better. It was a pretty solid action movie, but I think people are so worn out over the Middle East.

    It’s a shame because the movie isn’t a history lecture at all, it was good.

Leave a Reply

