Weekend Forecast: 8/17/07

Superbad
Jonah Hill explains why a fake ID with the name “McLovin”
might not be a good idea in the new comedy Superbad.

I originally conceived of the Weekend Forecast so that I could guarantee having material to write something at least once a week, but this is the first time I’ve actually gone a whole week without writing anything else. I will gladly refund this week’s subscription cost to any disgruntled readers.

This week’s wide releases:

  • Superbad. The timeless story of awkward teenagers looking to get laid. An R-rated comedy is always reason to rejoice and this one was produced by Judd Apatow, co-written by Seth Rogen and stars Jonah Hill (Undeclared) and Michael Cera (Arrested Development). It’s enough cause to be optimistic at least.
  • The Invasion. Nicole Kidman and Daniel Craig in the fourth screen version of Jack Finney’s book The Body Snatchers where alien life forms attempt to take over the planet, one body at a time. I’m happy with the original, I don’t need another remake. “You’re next. You’re next!!”
  • The Last Legion. Romulus, the boy who ruled Rome for 10 months between 475 and 476 AD is considered the last emperor of the Western Roman Empire. This fictional story based upon the book by Valerio Massimo Manfredi links Romulus with the legend of King Arthur and it stars Ben Kingsley and Colin Firth. Sometimes movies sneak up on me. I had no knowledge of this one until I sat down to write this forecast. Maybe in another week I’ll have some kind of opinion about it. Or maybe I won’t.

And in limited release:

  • The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters. A documentary about two guys fighting it out over who is the best Donkey Kong player ever. Normally this kind of thing wouldn’t hold my interest, but it turns out I went to school with challenger Steve Wiebe from 5th – 12th grades. I remember Steve as a really nice guy. On the other hand, reigning champ “Gamer of the Century” Billy Mitchell looks like a massive douche so I hope Steve kicks Billy’s ass.
  • Delirious. Steve Buscemi in Tom DiCillo’s story of a sleazy tabloid photographer angling to get a prized shot of a pop star.
  • The 11th Hour. At this point, either you believe human beings are altering the earth’s climate for the worse or you don’t. If you don’t, I doubt there’s anything Leonardo DiCaprio can say in this documentary that will change your mind.
  • 7 Días. A low level music promoter in Mexico hopes to raise his reputation by getting U2 to play a concert in his hometown.
  • Splinter. Directorial debut of Edward James Olmos’ son Michael about a gang member seeking revenge for the death of his brother.
2 thoughts on “Weekend Forecast: 8/17/07

  1. Looking forward to Superbad. It will be interesting to see how many more bland, boring or bad movies that Nicole Kidman is allowed to be lifeless in before it affects her career.

  2. I hope Superbad doesn’t disappoint. Nicole Kidman is a weird case for me. I know a lot of people who hate her, but I find I’m indifferent. Yet when I think back to most of her work, I can’t think of much she was really great in. I wouldn’t avoid a movie just because she was in it, but I wouldn’t see a movie just for her either.

Leave a Reply

