Weekend Forecast: 8/3/07

Matt Damon

This weekend in wide release:

  • The Bourne Ultimatum. The third (and last?) movie in the Bourne franchise and the third (and last) of the summer movies I’ve actually been looking forward to this year. The question is: did somebody buy Paul Greengrass a friggin’ tripod since the last time out?
  • Bratz. Hey look everybody! It’s BratzzzZzzZzzzz zZZzzzzzZZzZZZ zZZzZzZZZZzzzZzzz (snort) ZZzZzZzzzzzzZZ ZZzzzzZZzzzZ ZZZzzZZzZ ZzZZzzzzzzzzzZZZZz….

  • El Cantante. Do 600 screens actually count as a wide release? I don’t know. Anyway, when I first saw the trailer for this biopic about Salsa superstar Hector Lavoe, the audience spontaneously booed and hissed at the first sight of Jennifer Lopez. I remember how great she was in Out of Sight and I have to wonder where it all went so wrong. Having said that, I’ll be seeing her and her husband Marc Anthony in this movie right after I go jogging in a pair of boxers lined with live porcupines.
  • Hot Rod. The singularly unfunny SNL cast member Andy Samberg stars as an accident-prone stuntman. I guess the equally unfunny Horatio Sanz was busy the week they threw this thing together. Maybe he was taking card-reading lessons. Or maybe he was watching Jimmy Fallon movies and just laughing until it hurt.
  • Underdog. You will believe a dog can fly, but you will not believe you paid money to see it. Go see Ratatouille again instead.
  • Talk to Me (Expanding Wide). This one’s been kicking around for awhile in limited release and opens wide this weekend. Don Cheadle stars as 60s DC radio personality Ralph Waldo “Petey” Greene.

And the limited releases:

  • Becoming Jane. Anne Hathaway (The Devil Wears Prada) and James McAvoy (The Last King of Scotland) in this biography of author Jane Austen.
  • The Ten. Ten shorts about the Ten commandments. Oh, and it’s a comedy. Featuring Paul Rudd, Jessica Alba, Winona Ryder, Adam Brody, Gretchen Mol, Famke Janssen, Rob Corddry, Liev Schreiber, Oliver Platt, Justin Theroux and Ken Marino.
  • This is England. (Opened NY 7/27) Writer/director Shane Meadows (Once Upon a Time in the Midlands, Dead Man’s Shoes) takes a page from his youth with this story of a boy who falls in with some skinheads in his neighborhood in the 80s. I know I already said the exact same thing last week, but now the movie is opening in LA.
  • No End in Sight. (Opened NY, DC 7/27) Supposedly excellent documentary about how things all went to hell in Iraq. See, if only the military had a flying dog…
3 thoughts on “Weekend Forecast: 8/3/07

  1. I’m a big fan of the Bourne movies, Matt Damon and Paul Greengrass, that paired with the terrific reviews, means that Ultimatum is guaranteed to be at least pretty good. Right?

    Bratz is immoral, and I’m hard to offend, but making toys that dress 8 year old girls like whores and encourages real 8 year old girls to do the same is problematic.

    Talk to Me looks promising too and its expanding into my area tomorrow, so I’m thinking a triple feature of Bourne, this, and Once this weekend.

  2. Actually looking forward to The Bourne Ultimatum, although I agree that Greengrass would be well-served if forced to film an entire movie with a fixed camera. Still, the guy’s pretty talented so I’ll pop a Dramamine and take a look.

    Plus, I’ve grown to really enjoy Matt Damon as an actor. How do you like THEM apples?

    Once again, the limited releases exceed the national ones for my interest.

    This is England sounds depressing but original and interesting. If No End in Sight is anywhere as good as the book Imperial Life in the Emerald City, I imagine it will be an Oscar contender. And even though The Ten does nothing for me on paper, the trailer was actually really funny. Surprisingly funny. The best part was the subtle mocking of Jessica Alba even being in the cast. Jokes like that in your own trailer? Hmmm…I might have to see it.

  3. I guess with Bratz they feel they’re moving away from pedophillia by making the girls high school aged? Yeah I don’t know. Clearly I’m not the target audience here.

    Not sure if I’ll make it to Bourne this weekend, I have a lot of catching up to do. I’ve been slacking on watching new stuff lately.

    I’d never really thought about it until lately, but it turns out Matt Damon has really grown on me as well. I think he’s studied very hard at the George Clooney school of celebrity and it’s working very well for him. He comes off cool and funny and isn’t afraid to poke fun at himself.

Leave a Reply

