The New Beverly abides. I don’t know about you, but I take comfort in that…

Walter, Donny and The Dude
“I am the Walrus?”

Good news if you live in Los Angeles. According to the LA Times, the Torgan family has decided to keep the New Beverly Cinema open. A coincidentally timed double-feature of Ingmar Bergman films began tonight and will continue tomorrow (8/2) with The Virgin Spring and Wild  Strawberries to be followed Friday and Saturday by the Coens’ The Big Lebowski and The Hudsucker Proxy (the calendar information in the LA Times seems to be incorrect as of this writing [But it’s been corrected now]). Fast Times at Ridgemont High and The Last American Virgin begin Sunday. Check out the full month’s calendar here.

10 thoughts on “The New Beverly abides. I don’t know about you, but I take comfort in that…

  1. It’s odd how precient the timing of that calendar is, all things considered. Good for them though…I’m guessing the Bergman films will receive a much better turnout than they would have otherwise and that’s nothing but a good thing. Lewbowski and the Hudsucker Proxy is an odd-pairing of Coen Brother movies but worth the ticket for the Dude alone.

    “Obviously, you’re not a golfer.”

    There’s some great combos in there, truly inspired. John Carpenter’s The Thing and the 70’s version of Body Snatchers? Brilliant. Dr Strangelove and Being There is also a curious pairing.

  2. This is the last month that Mr. Torgan had programmed before he died and it’s his personal touch I think that helped make the Bev so great. The American Cinematheque’s Egyptian and Aero theaters are great and they show lots of great movies there, but they’re just not quite the same.

  3. Wow, how I wish there was a theatre with programming like that around here (and how I wish I’d known about this theatre when I was in LA, although, without a car, I doubt I’d have been able to go there very often).

    I understand why there isn’t though. There’s no audience for that here.

  4. Anna Nicole Smith’s 5-second appearance in The Hudsucker Proxy is how the LA Times is marketing it? Jeez.

    I just hope they can keep it going for a good long time, we’ll see how the programming goes…

  5. Every time I watch Hudsucker and Anna Nicole’s scene comes up, I go “Oh yeah, she’s in this.” And then I promptly forget again. It’s not my favorite Coen, but there are dozens of great things about it they could’ve mentioned instead.

    This is relevant to nothing Sarcastig since The Netherlands is not France, but I’ve heard that one of the best places in the world to see old American movies (and I bet movies in general) is Paris.

  6. Mentioning that Anna Nicole Smith is in Hudsucker Proxy is like noting that Tara Reid is in Big Lewbowski. The Coens seem to have a knack for finding freaky flash-in-pan blonde actresses. Humorously, Tara seemed to really get that role though.

    Anyway, thanks for reminding me. That little bit of Hudsucker casting is still a bizarre footnote.

Leave a Reply

