Weekend Forecast: 7/27/07

The Simpsons Movie 

This week in wide release:

  • The Simpsons Movie. I love the Simpsons and yet I’ve never felt like I needed a movie about them. They’re still on TV in new episodes and in regular reruns and this whole thing feels about 10 years too late. I assumed everyone felt the same way until I saw the line of people waiting to get into the Burbank 7-Eleven turned Kwiki-Mart on the day it first opened. And then I made my own Simpsons character…
  • I Know Who Killed Me. This is the first and possibly last time I will write the words “Lindsay Lohan” in this blog. Nothing against the girl and it saddens me in a way because she seems to have some talent, but they need to get this girl off my television set. I’m serious.

  • No Reservations. Another simple but endearing foreign film gets glammed up for Hollywood which can only mean every last ounce of life it may have originally had has been completely sucked dry. Catherine Zeta-Jones plays a prickly chef who inherits her sister’s child following an accident. I’m guessing they all learn a little something about themselves and each other and live happily ever after until Aaron Eckhart accidentally kills a man with his chin.
  • Who’s Your Caddy? Rap mogul screws with the country club set. I’ve been trying for about 10 minutes to think of something snarky and dismissive to say about this thing and I give up. I’ll just leave you with this: Directed by the guy who wrote Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man.

I’m thinking of ditching the part of the Weekend Forecast that covers limited releases.  Half the time I miss the release if the film first opens in NY and unless you live in LA, these notices are meaningless anyway. If you have an opinion either way, leave a comment or send me an email. In the meantime here’s some of this week’s new releases in LA:

  • Moliére. Period piece about the French playwright that sounds like it could be called Moliére in Love and star Gwyneth Paltrow. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.
  • This is England. Writer/director Shane Meadows (Once Upon a Time in the Midlands, Dead Man’s Shoes) takes a page from his youth with this story of a boy who falls in with some skinheads in his neighborhood in the 80s.
  • Macbeth. I mentioned this one a month and a half ago when it opened in NY. It’s opening in LA finally so I’m repeating what I said before: Yet another filming of Shakespeare’s tragedy. Roman Polanski and Akira Kurosawa have both taken the same material and made classic films. Let’s see if Geoffrey Wright (Romper Stomper) can do the same thing. It looks like it takes place in the present, but uses Shakespeare’s original text.
One thought on “Weekend Forecast: 7/27/07

  1. I see your point on the Limited Release section but typically those are the most interesting films coming out and likely to be the ones most people either haven’t heard about or may have forgotten about. I say keep it if you enjoy doing it and dump it if you don’t, but even though it’s not entirely appropriate to my locale I still appreciate the heads up.

Leave a Reply

