Weekend Forecast: 5/25/07

Arrrrr!

This week in wide release: 

  • Pirates of the Caribbean 3: I’m tired of bitching about this godawful franchise so this year I’m not going to bother. Why waste my energy? There’s no point. It’s going to happen and it’s going to be huge and there’s not a goddamn thing I can do about it. You’ve already made up your mind to see it or skip it and nothing I say is going to change that. Go forth in peace and enjoy yourself. I’m just going to close my eyes, bite the pillow, sob quietly and pray that it’s all over quickly.

  • Bug: Bartender Ashley Judd is hiding out from her recently paroled ex-husband Harry Connick, Jr. in a run down motel.  Things begin looking up when she meets charming Gulf War vet Michael Shannon.  They start looking down again when he reveals he was infected with a bug during the war and they’re not the ones that makes it burn when you pee.  They’re microscopic insects quickly multiplying under his skin.  When he believes the bugs have infected Ashley as well, a paranoid rage ensues and for Ashley, life with the old Harry Connick, Jr. probably starts looking pretty swell. Directed by William Friedkin (The Exorcist, The French Connection)

In limited release:

  • Angel-A: Luc Besson directs this 2005 French film about a young man who, unable to repay 40,000 euros he owes to the wrong people, is determined to kill himself.  Just as he’s about to jump into the Seine he sees a beautiful woman with the same thing on her mind.  He rescues her and the two form an unlikely partnership.
  • Poison Friends: Drama examining the world of French academic circles from the perspective of three first year graduate literature students at the Sorbonne.
  • The Golden Door (NY 5/25, LA 6/1, Wider 6/15):  Italian film about a Sicilian family struggling to get a foothold in New York in 1913.
  • Paprika (NY 5/25, LA 6/1): Latest from animator Satoshi Kon (Tokyo Godfather, Millenium Actress) about a psychiatrist who develops a machine that allows her to enter her patient’s dreams.
3 thoughts on “Weekend Forecast: 5/25/07

  1. Don’t worry buddy, I can guarantee that there will be at least one other person besides you in this hemisphere not seeing the Pirates movie. Would like to see Bug though, and what’s the buzz on the Besson movie?

  2. I’m not sure about Bug, wasn’t it supposed to be released last year? That’s usually a bad sign.

    As for Angel-A, I haven’t heard much about it but I’ve seen the trailer like 5 times. I thought it looked interesting, but you never know with Besson, do you?

  3. No you don’t know with Besson. I think of him as a talented guy who never really makes movies I particularly care for. I thought even his most loved films, La Femme Nikita and The Professional, worked more on paper and in theory than reality, and I sort of hated The Messenger, but I’m always curious.

Leave a Reply

