Weekend Forecast: 5/18/07

Shrek the Third

Spider-Man 3 fades from memory just in time for the one new wide release:

  • Shrek the Third:  Grab your Happy Meals and leave your thinking caps at home kids, it’s time for another go-round with everyone’s favorite ogre.  Without adjusting for inflation, Shrek 2 is the third highest grossing movie ever in the United States so I’m probably the only one who isn’t looking forward to this one at all.  In fact maybe I’ll schedule a rectal exam or a root canal for opening day, both of which are more appealing.  [Originally I listed Shrek the Third at 81 minutes and now I’ve pulled my head out of my ass and I realize it’s 92] 

In limited release:

  • Away From Her and The Waitress are both expanding into more theaters this week.  I can’t speak for the latter, but the former is worth checking out.
  • Severance:  Horror/comedy surrounding the Eastern European corporate weekend for top employees of an international weapons manufacturer.  Apparently I’m not the only one for whom the idea of team-building inspires thoughts of bloody murder because people start getting knocked off.  I don’t know.  Sounds funny to me.
  • Once (May 16):  This Irish musical romance made quite a stir at Sundance where it recently won the World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award.  It’s only opening in 2 theatres this weekend but buzz is strong so keep an eye out for it.
  • Fay Grim:  Parker Posey in Hal Hartley’s sequel to Henry Fool.
  • The Wendell Baker Story:   A movie from the Wilson Brothers (Andrew and Luke directed, Owen and Luke wrote and star) that seems to have been kicking around since 2005 which is never a good sign.  Luke plays the title character, a con man looking for redemption working at a retirement community run by unscrupulous head nurse Owen Wilson.  Also with Will Ferrell, Seymour Cassel, Harry Dean Stanton and Kris Kristofferson.
  • Paris, Je T’Aime:  18 short films from 21 directors, each one titled after a neighborhood in Paris.  Directors include Gus Van Sant, Joel & Ethan Coen, Christopher Doyle, Sylvain Chomet, Alfonso Cuaron, Wes Craven and Tom Tykwer among others.  Usually these omnibus films are pretty hit and miss, but come on…the Coen Brothers for crapssakes! 
  • The Last Time:  Ever wonder what happened to Michael Keaton and Brendan Fraser?  Well, apparently they were making this movie.   It’s a comedy/drama in which Keaton plays a salesman who falls in love with the fiancee of his new business partner (Fraser).
  • Hollywood Dreams:  The new one from Henry Jaglom about an aspiring actress from the midwest who moves to Los Angeles and falls for a rising star.
4 thoughts on “Weekend Forecast: 5/18/07

  1. I fell asleep during the last Shrek movie. I don’t like them, I don’t hate them, but I wish they would go away, because the any pop culture joke it takes to fill the scene strategy was annoying five years ago.

    I loved Henry Fool when it played at my campus when I was freshman, I haven’t ever revisted it (I have the feeling that it doesn’t hold up) but I’m curious about the new one, even though word is rather mixed. I’m only passingly aware of Hartley, read more about him than I’ve actually watched. I saw Trust right after seeing Henry Fool and then kind of stopped watching. Tried to watch the one with Sarah Polley and the monster and couldn’t get into it.

    REALLY want to see Paris, Je T’Aime, primarily to get my Payne fix while I wait for his next feature.

  2. The first Shrek at least had a soul. The 2nd one I remember liking while I was watching it but quickly forgot about it.

    Hal Hartley is one of the blind spots in my film-going life. One of those things that nag me to watch but somehow I never get around to it.

    I’m really skeptical of Paris Je T’Aime yet I’m also looking forward to it. I figure at least a handful of the shorts have to be good even if the thing doesn’t work as a whole. We’ll see.

  3. You know any family movie where the best gag is a Starbucks joke has got problems, but Shrek 2 wasn’t really any different from Shrek (1). I imagine Shrek 3 will make a LOT of money this weekend and no matter how lame it might be, most people probably won’t notice.

    Curious about Paris Je T’Aime even though anthology movies rarely ever are even 50% watchable. Also curious about Once and The Wendell Baker Story even though the both the Wilson brothers now give me a rash. Guess I’m some sort of masochist but I still like Bottle Rocket a lot.

Leave a Reply

