Weekend Forecast: 5/11/07

28 Weeks Later

The real question is how much Spider-Man 3 will drop off from last weekend’s record, but here’s what else is opening.

In wide release:

  • Delta Farce: A new Larry the Cable Guy movie, because, you know, retarded 10-year-olds need comedy too.  Anyone care to bet the over/under on fart and gay jokes?
  • Georgia Rule:  What do the movies The Other Sister, Runaway Bride, The Princess Diaries, The Princess Diaries 2 and Raising Helen all have in common? A) They comprise Garry Marshall’s filmography for the last 10 years, B) they’re all on the torture set list at Guantanamo Bay detention camp or C) all of the above.
    Of course, the answer is:  C) all of the above.  I guess the good news is it means Marshall isn’t making Raising Helen 2.  For anyone who’s still interested, Jane Fonda is Georgia.  This is a movie about her rules.  Hence the title.  Felicity Huffman and Lindsay Lohan co-star.  Save your ticket stub and receive a free large cyanide laced Kool-Aid at the concession stand. 
  • The Ex: In this romantic comedy, married couple Zach Braff and Amanda Peet move from New York back to her home town in Ohio so she can afford to be a stay-at-home mom following the birth of their baby and…oh never mind.  You can probably find this one in your local video store before you finish reading this sentence. There is some business with Jason Bateman in a wheelchair that I’m sure is funnier than a blow to the groin.
  • 28 Weeks Later: 6 months after a rage virus transformed British citizens into crazed zombies, the US military has declared “mission accomplished” and the rebuilding of a ruined nation has begun.  Wait, didn’t I see this one on CNN? A sequel title nearly as lame as Another 48 Hours, but this seems like the best bet of a weak crop of wide releases.
4 thoughts on “Weekend Forecast: 5/11/07

  1. Seeing 28 weeks with my brother this weekend. I was the one guy who thought the first film was well crafted but overrated (same could be said for most of Boyle’s stuff, imho) but the trailer for this new film is terrific, and it seems to tell the story on a broad enough scale that would justify a 23rd trip to the zombie well in just as many months.

    I was ok with Georgia Rule (for the cast) until I realized Marshall was involved, with the exception of Frankie and Johnny (which I found charming) I don’t do that man’s work.

  2. I’m automatically skeptical of any sequel. I liked but didn’t love 28 Days. Still, it’s the most promising release of the weekend.

    I never really thought about the enormity with which Garry Marshall sucks until I looked at his filmography. It’s a monument to mediocrity. It makes your eyes water. Too bad because I was sort of looking forward to Jane Fonda doing more acting and I’ve like Felicity Huffman since Sports Night.

  3. My all-time favorite movie is Dr. Strangelove and so I think it’s safe to say I’m neither offended by satires of War nor slapstick humor, but the very concept of Delta Farce makes me sick to my stomach. The fact that the target audience for this is folks with Flags and Support Our Troops stickers on their bumpers is not lost on me either.

    If I see any of these, it will likely be 28 Weeks Later.

    And I’m guessing Spiderman 3 will still do great but drop off about 60% from it’s opening record-setting weekend. The word of mouth isn’t good but the built-in audience is massive.

  4. A little late no thanks to WordPress, but it turns out you were pretty right on about the Spider-Man 3 dropoff, Joel.

    I’m guessing now that Pirates will open lower than Spider-Man 3, but it still might pull in more overall if it gets better word of mouth.

Leave a Reply

